Intrastate/Intraprovincial Operating Authorities

The introduction of the Unified Carrier Registration system will have a pronounced effect on Carrier registration procedures and requirements. Examples of these changes include:
  1. Contrary to popular belief concerning the "Sun setting of the ICC", many jurisdictions continue to require an Intrastate or Intraprovincial Operating Authority. A "For-Hire" Property carrier's IRP and IFTA registrations are only good for Interstate or Extrapovincial transportation of property within these juriscitions. Motor Carriers must obtain an additional Intrastate Operating Authority for the following jursidictions. (verified on: 20-NOV-2007)

    Alabama, Arkansas, California, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Quebec, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

  2. Below are the jurisdictions that do not issue an Intrastate Operating Authority(IOA) to FMCSA registered Interstate Motor Carriers. These jurisdiction continue to maintain records for carriers that operate solely within their jurisdiction. To verify the IOA of a specific carrier, the carrier’s UCR1, IRP2, and IFTA3 registration documentation must be obtained. Prior to the implementation of the UCR, some may also require insurance forms to be filed in addition to UCR/IRP/IFTA registration. Canadian Provinces require a Canadian Safety Registration(CVOR).

    Alberta, Arizona, British Columbia, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Manitoba, Massachusetts, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Brunswick, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Newfoundland/Labrador, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward, Saskatchewan, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, and West Virginia.

  3. All States/Provinces continue to regulate House-Hold-Goods, Hazardous materials, and the transportation of people.

  4. The following jurisdictions are not members of th UCR, IRP, or IFTA. Operating in these regions requires fees to be paid at the Ports of Entry, specified Weight Stations, over the phone, or purchased on the internet:

    Alaska, Northwest Territories, Nunavut, Yukon.

  5. A Motor Carrier’s Intra-jurisdiction Operating Authority is assigned to specific vehicles within the carrier’s fleet. Therefore, only the vehicles with VIN numbers assigned to that jurisdiction may legally operate point-to-point within the given jurisdiction, unless the required permits are obtained prior to entering that jurisdiction.

  1. Unified Carrier Registration
  2. International Registration Plan
  3. International Fuel Tax Association, Inc.
QIS logo (D&M)Q Information Solutions LLC
A Risk Free Carrier Base Through Compliance Management
Services |  Products |  Resources |  FAQs |  About Us |  QIS News |  Contact |  AuthTrak®
United States Authorities |  Canadian Authorities |  Mexico Government |  Intrastate - Intraprovincial
This page was last verified on: 02-Sep-2011